Explore authoritative updates on immigration law, pertinent changes in policy, and professional advisories, all essential resources for navigating the complexities of immigration procedures with confidence.

New Guidance on Employment Authorization for E and L Spouses


Everyone needs permission from the US government to remain in the US and to work in the US. US employment-based immigration laws govern who and how one can obtain work permission, i.e., work visas. The ability to remain in the US and the ability to work in the US however are not necessarily entwined. Spouses of individuals who receive work visas are given visas that allow them to accompany the principal visa holder, i.e., the worker, but does not always allow them to work.

Spouses of E-1 (treaty trader), E-2 (treaty investors), E-3 (specialty occupation individuals who are citizens of Australia)...


Biden Administration Issues STEM-Friendly Policies


Biden Administration Just Announced New STEM-Friendly Policies

J-1 visas are available for individuals entering the U.S. temporarily, measured in months and years, in connection with a wide range of purposes, including training and research. The Biden Administration just announced the following

The U.S. State Department’s Bureau of Educational & Cultural Affairs (ECA) will have an “Early Career STEM Research Initiative” to facilitate nonimmigrant BridgeUSA exchange visitors coming to the U.S. to engage in STEM research. There will be new guidance that will facilitate additional academic training for undergraduate and graduate students in STEM fields on a J-1 visa for periods up to...

New Rules for Travel Take Effect November 8


Today the White House announced the overarching details of the long-awaited lifting of the “travel ban.” Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, the White House has prohibited entry into the United States of individuals who had been present in a list of countries within 14 days of seeking admission into the United States, with certain exceptions. These countries include the United Kingdom, Ireland, countries of the Schengen region, China, Brazil, India, and South Africa. As of November 8, 2021, this ban will no longer be in place. Instead, the White House is requiring travelers to the United States to...


White House to Change International Travel Rules in November


The White House just announced today that it will be taking an individualized approach, versus a categorical approach, to curb the spread of COVID-19 arising out of international travel.

Currently, individuals who have been in any of the restricted countries within 14 days of traveling to the U.S. are prohibited from entering unless they meet certain exceptions. Such countries include China, Brazil, South Africa, India, the U.K., Ireland, and the Schengen countries. The White House announced today that starting in early November these restrictions will be dropped. Instead, all adults traveling into the United States will need to provide proof...


Clark Lau LLC Announces Eric Lockwood as Partner


Clark Lau LLC is pleased to announce the promotion of Eric F. Lockwood as Partner. Eric has been practicing law since 2006 and joined Clark Lau LLC in 2014. Eric serves individuals, professionals, and employers in both employment-based and family-based immigration matters. He currently serves as one of the members of the AILA New England chapter US Customs and Border Protection Committee members. Find out more about Eric:


India Joins List of Countries with Travel Restrictions to the US


As of Tuesday, May 4, 12:01AM ET, India joins the list of countries with travel restrictions to the U.S.

Currently, anyone who has been in any of the restricted countries within the last 14 days cannot enter the U.S. These countries include the U.K., Ireland, the People’s Republic of China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau), Iran, Brazil, South Africa, and countries from the Schengen region (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland).

Some of the exceptions to the travel restrictions include...


Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.